Durango Rallies for Obama!





Democrates from La Plata County rally in support of Senator Barak Obama in response to McCain’s arrival in Durango , Colorado on Friday, Oct.24th. A handful of “anarchist” made a showing as well…

Perhaps what intrigued me most with this essay was the energy and diversity of those showing support along main street on Friday afternoon. It is a beautiful thing to see people so involved, outspoken and determined to help set the course of our country’s near future! I found these people and this subject “open” to photography, do you find certain subjects lend themselves to the media and if so what has been the “drive ” behind that??

I think that in this case it is clearly the idea that these individuals of diverse background, mixed age and various creed have something to say….and rightly so, want their message to be heard… perhaps in the medium of a photograph!

Please take a minute to comment. You can easily view the entire selection of photographs from this essay HERE.

Photographs © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2008. All Rights Reserved.

8 thoughts on “Durango Rallies for Obama!

  1. Hey brother.There is something in the air this election season, eh? Electric. Powerful. Moving. You captured it quite well, I think. First and last images are my faves, though you tell a good story with them all.

    Like

  2. Thanks so much for these amazing photos. It will forever remind me how special it was to be there with my fellow Durangotangs rallying for the man who is going to bring TRUE CHANGE to this wounded country of ours. The power and energy of the crowds, the positivity, the smiles, is something I will always remember, and when I am an old lady, I can say I was part of the movement that put our country back on the right track, restored honor, and renewed the promise of America. I was so proud of our little town that day, and it reminded me of our very special this place is. I stood alongside many old, young, white, Native American, Hispanic,veterans, soldiers, and we shared a moment, and a hope that Obama will truly change this country. It was powerful, and electric! Thanks again for being there to document this special moment in Durango

    Like

  3. What an awesome event to honor Senator Obama. My children were so proud to be part of it and the ongoing process of this election. Durango is a loving community, a family community and you captured that in the beautiful photograph taken of me and my girls. The essay was very moving, you captured it…the energy! great job! Carin Garcia, Brianna Garcia and Keely Garcia

    Like

Leave a Reply

