The Schank House.








Photographs © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2008. All Rights Reserved.

While many photojournalist opt for city life in some of the fastest paced communities across the globe, I rolled the dice once more, returning to the very place in Colorado where I grew up. I came home to the valley of my youth, bent on the idea that one must not necessarily sacrifice quality of life in order to pursue a career as challenging as professional photography.

In this, one of the greatest principals of photojournalism has been understood; one need not photograph exotic lands or historical moments to create compelling, powerful, or even beautiful images. But rather fully understand the subject at hand, tell your own story through photographs and the images will speak for themselves. I believe that if you take on a story idea that interests you, then that idea will take on interest!

Great photographic works are not shot from a distance but rather from arms length, and above all they involve dedication and understanding.

This short essay was shot at the local bar across the road from where I live; a couple birthdays rolled together with the opening of the Schank House saloon, and the energy of the night was set in motion! This is a small slice of life, community, and family. This is Vallecito, this is a part of my own story. – Enjoy

2 thoughts on “The Schank House.

  1. Absolutely right about creating compelling images right here at home. Although traveling around the world does have an added spark that can be useful for the creative juices, there’s just a different (better?) satisfaction you get from a short walk down the street or drive around the corner. Especially if you come away with good photographs. Love these!

    Like

  2. I certainly agree with you about the added spark. Much of Lesotho was “in my own backyard” during those years in Africa, but my travels took me to places I had longed to see all my life, and in those places my photography was driven further by the experience! Talk soon. Cheers, -Jeremy

    Like

Leave a Reply

