Close to Home: A Portrait Piece





Photographs © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2009.

Smoked Brisket, Horseshoes, Mountain Streams, Fly-Fishing, Country Air, Cold Tecate, Friends, Family, Dogs, Fresh Cut Watermelon, Cowboy Beans, Fireworks, Lakeshore, Nikon Cameras, Canon Cameras, Smoke, Laughter and Quite Moments- A Celebration of Independence.

I chose these images for their intimacy and the serenity I was able to capture during these candid moments. While each of the individuals knew I was shooting, I was careful to capture moments of conversation, or the subtle rehearsed action of smoking, thereby drawing the attention away from my lens. The exception might be an above image of Garrett shot following a brief rain storm, where I asked my subject to “hold up” for a picture, the rest came naturally!

Final Edit.

Garrett Ross in the spotlight….

Leave a Reply

