The Forth Season : Mitchell




Photographs © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2009. All Rights Reserved.

I began hunting with Ben Mitchell in the year 2007. We are friends, neighbors, and for five days out of each year, dedicated woodsman.

Ben’s patience with my need to document our search for elk seems to have no end. In the early morning light, a single, or multiple, trip of the camera shutter seems to ring through the silence like a gunshot. I feel like the one kid unwrapping a butterscotch candy during final exams. If at times Ben seems to be annoyed by my journalistic pursuits, I fall back and focus my lens on the nature around us and the hunt at hand.

Please take a moment to view some of the images from my first year out with Ben Mitchell and my grandfather James “Dub” Shockley. To see those images enter the photo gallery HERE.

Cheers, Jeremy

4 thoughts on “The Forth Season : Mitchell

  1. Thanks Mike! This essay is a long time coming and the bulk of last years images remain unedited.The next two posts have some of my favorites from our week in the woods and the eventual game processing, which is done by my grandfather who still uses the old ways! The last photo above is one of my favorites.I still want to hear some more stories from DC Photo Week- perhaps I can email later today. Cheers, Jeremy

    Like

  2. Jeremy, you captured one of Ben's very favorite adventures! What a joy to see these lovely moments in the hunt. Sort of like peeking into a part of his life I would have never seen for myself. Thanks so much for this treasure! Absolutly beautiful. Carol Mitchell

    Like

Leave a Reply

