The Serendipitous Self Portrait.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2010. All Rights Reserved.

I have certainly set out to make a number of self portriats over the years- usually a request or assignment of some sort. Although since going digital, I have found myself shooting the odd reflection or miscast shadow if the image catches my interest.

These scenarios are almost always the product of isolation- like talking to ones self perhaps. I find that as I move about car grave yards, empty buildings or quite streets that my images often gravitiate to the human element – often times my own! The serendipitous self portrait is perhaps the best, truly documentary and usually unpretentous….

As photographers do you find yourself making or rather taking self portraits which you might liken to a chance encounter?

I would certainly argue that the many self portraits taken over the years by some of the most influential photographers are now an invaluable part of the photographic record.

Just something to think about next time you catch your own reflection -camera in hand! Cheers, Jeremy

Leave a Reply

