Victoria Falls.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2010.

Ever since picking up a camera it had been a dream of mine to capture the magnificence of Africa’s Victoria Falls on film. When the opportunity came, I did not miss it.

Spending almost a full five days in the border town of Livingston, Zambia. Waking each morning before light, and hazarding the taxi ranks to return well beyond sunset I photographed the falls each day for three consecutive days. I shot all the film I could spare, not yet knowing if I would be able to replace the rolls when I arrived in the capitol city of Lusaka.

The year was 2005, I had just hitchhiked across the deserts of Namibia and was en route for East Africa where I would finish out my last weeks on the continent shooting on Lake Malawi and eventually turn my lens to the Indian Ocean.

Leave a Reply

