Nightscape.



Photographs © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2010.

Spending a few nights in Denver afforded me the opportunity for some street photography along the 16Th Street Mall and Lodo District.

Living in rural Colorado, I find myself immediately attracted to the cityscape and all the elements that visually define an urban area: rich colors, neon lights, elegant buildings, and yes even the emptiness of great paved spaces and dark alleys. The bars and restaurants draw me in and eventually my senses calm down and as I return to the street, my lens comes back around to focus on the people of this urban landscape and the lives that they live…so different from my own.

I shot these images on my first night out, somewhere between a warm craft of Saki and the comfort of my room at the Brown Palace- using only a 20mm prime lens-ideal for street photography.

Do you find it easiest to shoot images when you first set eyes on a place, while the surrounding environment is still visually arousing all of your senses? A frame by frame visual exploration-documenting with every click of the shutter, unsure whether any of it will ever appear quite the same again.

Leave a Reply

