Life’s Greatest Journey.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2010.

It was almost a year ago, last spring, that I asked Rachel to spend her life with me. The water at our toes, wind in our face, it was spring at last. We stood there on the edge of Lake Vallecito, free from the world, hearts and minds open to the future. It was a wonderful feeling that existed that day, it filled my mind, running through my soul- then and there I seemed to understand beauty and purpose in the same breath. It was contentment.

It was then that I asked Rachel to marry me, against the brisk breeze of early spring, to share in my adventures and I in hers…to not only see the world together, but to breathe in life and all that it is.

Eddy understood the moment, four legs and a pure soul, he stood below us and let the wind take his ears back. I too let the wind take me.

Let us celebrate in the very thing that binds us, and that is friendship, understanding, and above all- Respect!

In less than two weeks, we toast to our union amongst friends and family here in the valleys of Colorado, and from there travel south to Guatemala. Only then, beneath the shadow of volcanos and time itself that we will consummate our union.

We will speak our vows and set forth into our new lives with but a few witnesses and each other to remember the details. Remembering the moment will not outweigh our hopes for the future, and it is ahead that we will take our first steps together!

Peace be with you. Jeremy

6 thoughts on “Life’s Greatest Journey.

  1. Oh you big sap! I love every word! We are thrilled such a beautiful woman has captured your heart and are honored to be with you for a pre-celebration of such a momentous event. May the journey only get better as you go! We love you both! B&C

    Like

  2. Mike, Anytime! I look forward to seeing those pics… very hectic on this end since returning from the DC area.Very excited about shooting the 35mm/F2 as a standby in Guatemala, should simplify my movements and travel..bringing the digital kit back down to what I have always carried overseas minus the large bags of film!Talk soon- Jeremy

    Like

Leave a Reply

