Breaking The Spell.

Photograph Jeremy Wade Shockley/SU DRUM

By Jeremy Wade Shockley

Nature is most powerful in its twilight. I take in the beauty of a fading autumn, the brittle nature of my surroundings, noting the coolness in the air. I feel a strong connection with my past, and a deeper tie to the earth this time of year.

The Vallecitio Valley of my youth is a product of hard work, heavy with the smell of earth and the approaching cold. Today is warmer than any day we are likely to see between now and spring. I will soon shed my long flannel shirt and felt brimmed hat, setting them safely to the side. The silence of nature is amplified, a calm before the storm.

I approach the land with respect; tactically setting the gas powered saw across some downed timber. Mentally gathering myself, physically prepared. The sound of the saw is the sound of the season; the hard work is a reflection of the past. The pine smell is intoxicating; sweat stings my eyes. I feel good.

2 thoughts on “Breaking The Spell.

  1. Beautiful photo Jeremy. You have a wonderful way with words that seems to be more refined everyday.I could smell the earth and coming winter weaving into my conscious memory.Enjoy the slow down and reflection it brings.tuo amigo, pat

    Like

Leave a Reply

