Timeless.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2010.

I took this photo of my close friend, Booms, on a return trip to the Mountain Kingdom in 2007. Booms is a kind, generous and loyal individual. He first came to me seeking help with some reading assignments for school, after some time we would pass the evenings together pitching horseshoes outside of my small hut in the village of Ha Mohatlane, sharing quarts of pilsner and a few stories. Booms is the silent type.

Near the end of my two years in Lesotho, Booms took as much interest in my photography it seemed, as I did, and became the closest thing to a fixer as I have known. We would spend hours during the weekend, visiting distant friends and relatives of his in neighboring communities, seeking subject material to put in front of my lens. Inevitably- my spoken Sosotho would reach apparent limitations-Booms was also my interpreter. During the week, he would often stop in to relax, particularly when any of my American Expatriates happened into town for a few days. Booms and I were friends.

This photo is a record of an afternoon spent at the home of Eddy Lesenyehoe, cold beers in the African heat, the sound of children and stories. I was content to be home, content to be back on African soil. A moment that no longer exists outside of this image.

Leave a Reply

