Spotlight on Galleries: The Mountain Kingdom

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2011.

I have recently created a final edit of images that I made during my two years of service under the United States Peace Corps. Serving in The Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho from 2003-2005. During those years I carried a manual film camera in my shoulder bag in order to document my surroundings on a day-to-day basis. I travelled through all ten districts of Lesotho in my time there, but the bulk of my images were made within a few minutes walk of my home in the village of Ha Mohatlane.

Film was scarce, and the money to develop what rolls I could afford to buy, was even harder to come by. The result was a very methodical approach to photography, careful composition, favorable lighting, and very few consecutive frames from any single subject. Very different from how I approach subjects now. I worked strictly with prime lenses, a 28mm f2.8 and a 50mm f1.7, during those first years in Lesotho. No flash, No tripod…simple-straight documentary style street photography.

This collection of images includes portraiture, landscapes and the small details that caught my eye as I passed my days under the African sun!

I have posted links to the Galleries featuring both my Color Film Images and the Black & White Film Images.

Simply click on the links…and enjoy the photographs!

Leave a Reply

