Out of Africa.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2011.

As I pack warm cloths, and mentally prepare myself to shoot the first big powwow celebration of the season in Denver, Colorado my thoughts turn to Africa.

Perhaps the winter storm warning and snowy mountain passes have something to do with it, perhaps the eight hour drive itself sends my mind to slower times. I am excited. The grand entries will be full of energy, the shooting intensifies, and the moments between are filled with life on the fringe of a great gathering of dancers and those who support them.

I pulled this image from the archive to reflect a slower pace of life. One which I dearly miss, a time in my life that perhaps I can never truly go back to, a cadence I may never reagin. Then again whose to say what the future has in store for all of us. If we truly seek something we can almost always find the way…I only hope that the peace in our world will continue to exist, and that troubled times will pass.

Take a moment for yourself this weekend, take a photo that reflects your idea of solitude, quite. Feel free to share in the process right here.

Best, Jeremy

Leave a Reply

