Nikon D7000: It’s Not About the Camera.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2011.

The Virtue of Size

In my travels to Africa and Latin America for almost a decade I shot photographs exclusively on a Pentax K1000 Manuel focus film camera, light durable, and ever so small. To this day many of my portfolio pieces are ones I created with that very camera, a gift from my mother the week I graduated High School. Ironically enough it sat in a dusty green trunk for a number of years after, while I pursued my architecture degree. My enrollment in a darkroom crash course through the school’s visual media department and a subsequent trip to Ecuador in the same year set in motion the career I so love and enjoy…

Back to the Basics

I have often debated with friends and colleagues about the virtue of size, functionality and what is truly necessary in a camera to create compelling imagery. As a travel photographer, with a pinochet for street photography, smaller is better-period. Today’s cameras provide every necessary function in even the most mid range cameras. While many professionals seek the latest and greatest full frame digital masterpiece touted as superior by companies such as Nikon and Canon, I would argue for a respectable compact SLR and a few fast prime lenses.

Trickle Down Technology

We used to throw this term around in the bike industry when i lived in Boulder, with technology in the inspired state that it is, improvements to the latest model, inevitably drive last years features down the line. In other words, if they create a new sensor for the mid range camera, it is more cost effective to use that sensor in the subsequent models the following year, while continuing to focus the research and design department on the competitive front at the top of the camera line. As a consumer you will almost always win.

Ranch Life

The first frames I ever took with a digital SLR were from my Ranch Life series in Jackson, Wyoming on a Nikon D70s, a loaner from the Nikon support team, generously helping us with our assignment. I purchased the then, brand new, Nikon D80 before returning to Colorado that very same week. My wonderful Pentax film camera was set aside, but never forgotten. Soon after came the D90. I am now enjoying the evolution of Nikon’s latest “compact” mid range digital SLR many assignments later. This camera is spectacular, and given the right circumstances I could not see too many professionals wanting for more.

Synopsis

Professionalism is, at least my mind, a matter of approach, not equipment. Perhaps the drive of this post is that the size of this camera is what sold me. I travel light. Less camera often means more access. Access is everything.

Please take a moment to scroll down through my recent posts and you will see that I have tagged numerous images with the D7000..brilliant colors, awesome clarity, and a lust for adventure!

This camera really is one for the books.

Cheers, Jeremy

Nikon D7000 equipped with Tokina 12 to 24mm F4 lens. Hoya Filter. Mack truck sold separately.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2011.

Leave a Reply

