Rodeo.

Photograph © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2012.

A subject that has intrigued me from an early age. My western roots, combined with the dust and leather of these particularly nostalgic events…cowboy culture to the core.
I have seen many and even photographed a few western rodeos in my day. Bulls, broncs, and even mutton bustin‘ make for action packed images..literally packed into a few seconds once they open the gates.
Like any event that I cover, the bulk of my attention is focused on the lifestyle surrounding that event, the fringes if you like. A few years back, I used my press pass at the Gallup Inter-Tribal Ceremonial to spend a few hours covering the Dine ‘Navajo’ Rodeo. Shooting the fringes here was no exception. Using a short lens and plenty of personal interaction, I was able to shoot the bull riders as they prepared for their eight second ride, both mentally and physically.
More rodeos are in my future as I continue to document the American West…camera in hand.
Keep checkin‘ in. Best, Jeremy
One thought on “Rodeo.

Leave a Reply

