Shooting the El Chapultepec: Five Years Strong.

Five years ago I was lured into the El Chapultepec by the sound of raucous blues music pouring from a side door, which had been propped open to cool the tightly packed jazz club down in the middle of particularly cold winter night.

I returned a few days later to document the scene as part of my ongoing work on Denver’s hip, revitalized downtown districts, sweeping west from Colfax and into lower downtown.

Returning last week with only my 85mm prime lens, ideal for the intimate low light photography I wish to create, Denver’s historic jazz club welcomed me in as it always had!

Juggling the Nikon, iPhone camera and a number of cold Modelos, sweating off their labels, I immersed myself into the night….as is my nature.

All Photographs © Jeremy Wade Shockley 2013. All Rights Reserved.

 

Leave a Reply

